Paul SIGNAC (Paris, 1863 - 1935). The port...

Lot 71
Aller au lot
12 000 - 18 000 EUR
Result with fees
Result : 24 000 EUR

Paul SIGNAC (Paris, 1863 - 1935). The port...

Paul SIGNAC (Paris, 1863 - 1935).
The port of Vannes.
Watercolor and graphite pencil on paper signed lower right, located and dated 1924 lower left.
Top. : 29 cm - Width : 43 cm

A certificate from Madame Marina Ferretti will be given to the purchaser.

At the turn of the century, Paul Signac freed himself from the neo-impressionist rigour to evolve towards a wider brushstroke and more vivid colours. On the recommendation of Camille Pissarro, he launches with conviction into watercolour representation, a technique perfectly suited to his devouring thirst for expression.
In 1928, he begins a major project for the collector Gaston Lévy, founder of the Monoprix stores: that of creating a series of watercolours of one hundred ports in France. For three years, he criss-crossed the country's coasts with his palette, constantly seeking to translate the variations in the atmosphere, the most fleeting moments.
Along the way, he wrote to his sponsor: "A good lesson in energy [...Think that some of the effects lasted only two minutes, that I had just enough time to write down "the key" and that we now have to reconstruct the little drama of remembrance, while avoiding introducing contradictory elements, an exciting little game, believe it or not".
On our work, he sets the memory of the port of Vannes on May 27, 1924. The pencil stroke is sure and quick, the touch spontaneous and free, the colours pure and vibrant. The artist allows the luminous whiteness of the paper to shine through between each coloured note to enhance its brilliance.

Bibliography:
Marina Ferretti-Bocquillon, P. Signac [exhibition, Fondation Pierre Gianadda, 18 June to 23 November 2003], Martigny, Fondation Pierre Gianadda, 2003.

My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Retourner au catalogue

Paul SIGNAC (Paris, 1863 - 1935). Le port...

Lot 71
Aller au lot
Estimation :
12000 - 18000 EUR
Résultats sans frais
Résultat : 24 000EUR

Paul SIGNAC (Paris, 1863 - 1935). Le port...

Paul SIGNAC (Paris, 1863 - 1935).
Le port de Vannes.
Aquarelle et crayon graphite sur papier signée en bas à droite, située et datée 1924 en bas à gauche.
Haut. : 29 cm - Larg. : 43 cm

Une attestation de Madame Marina Ferretti sera remise à l'acquéreur.

Au tournant du sie?cle, Paul Signac se libe?re de la rigueur ne?o-impressionniste pour e?voluer vers une touche plus large et des couleurs plus vives. Sur les recommandations de Camille Pissarro, il se lance avec conviction dans la repre?sentation a? l’aquarelle, technique convenant parfaitement a? sa soif de?vorante d’expression.
En 1928, il de?bute un projet d’envergure pour le collectionneur Gaston Le?vy, fondateur des magasins Monoprix : celui de constituer une se?rie d’aquarelles de cent ports de France. Pendant trois ans, il sillonne avec sa palette toutes les co?tes du pays, cherchant constamment a? traduire les variations de l’atmosphe?re, les instants les plus fugaces.
Au fil de l’eau, il e?crit a? son commanditaire : « Une bonne lec?on d’e?nergie [...] Songez que certains effets n’ont dure? que deux minutes, que j’ai eu juste le temps d’en noter « la clef » et qu’il faut maintenant reconstituer le petit drame du souvenir, en e?vitant d’y introduire des e?le?ments contradictoires, petit jeu passionnant, croyez-le bien ».
Sur notre œuvre, il fixe le souvenir du port de Vannes au 27 mai 1924. Le trait de crayon est su?r et rapide, la touche spontane?e et libre, les couleurs pures et vibrantes. L’artiste laisse transparaitre entre chaque note colore?e la blancheur lumineuse du papier pour mieux en rehausser l’e?clat.

Bibliographie :
Marina Ferretti-Bocquillon, P. Signac [exposition, Fondation Pierre Gianadda, 18 juin au 23 novembre 2003], Martigny, Fondation Pierre Gianadda, 2003.

Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de ventes
Retourner au catalogue