LE PHO (Hadong, 1907 - Paris, 2001). Bouquet...

Lot 87
Aller au lot
25 000 - 35 000 EUR
Result with fees
Result : 31 000 EUR

LE PHO (Hadong, 1907 - Paris, 2001). Bouquet...

LE PHO (Hadong, 1907 - Paris, 2001).
Bouquet of yellow chrysanthemums and foliage in a woven basket.
Silk painting signed lower right.
Top. : 55 cm - Width : 42 cm (at sight)


Le Pho was born on August 2, 1907 in Hadong near Hanoi, then capital of French Indochina. Son of the Viceroy of Tonkin (Tông-dôc), the young child benefited from a privileged education open to calligraphy and painting by scholars.
From 1925 to 1930, he studied at the Hanoi School of Fine Arts, newly created by Victor Tardieu, Nguyen Nam Son and Joseph Inguimberty. This period, in which the analysis of the great Western masters and traditional Asian techniques are mixed, is crucial for the young man's artistic awakening. The school became the fertile ground for a whole generation of brilliant artists who took advantage of this happy syncretism to create a new art, a balance between two opposing cultures. In the colonial context of the time, the cultural mix and the status of artist allowed this young promotion the possibility of individual expression and social emancipation.
Victor Tardieu, aware of the young painter's abilities, invited him to accompany him as an assistant at the 1931 Paris Colonial Exhibition and pushed him to join the Paris School of Fine Arts. He took advantage of this period to travel to Belgium, the Netherlands and Italy. This Grand Tour continues until Beijing where he settles in 1934 to study traditional Chinese painting.
After a first resounding exhibition in Hanoi in 1933, Le Pho moves to Paris where he devotes himself to painting. Initially influenced by the primitive and Renaissance masters, the artist revisits the iconography of the Virgin and Child where academic references and millenary oriental know-how are intermingled.
In 1941 and 1943, he crossed paths with Albert Marquet and Henri Matisse who introduced him to French avant-garde painting. His style, in perpetual evolution, will always keep this small poetic music revealing his Vietnamese heritage.
Thus, in the 1960s, his brush captures for eternity the evanescent colour of bouquets of flowers and transforms the immutable theme of still life into a double reverence for the Dutch Golden Age and xieyi watercolours.
He passes on this passion to his son, the artist and draftsman Pierre Le-Tan, who in turn will never cease to perfect the ancestral techniques on behalf of the New Yorker or the writer Patrick Modiano.
My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Retourner au catalogue

LE PHO (Hadong, 1907 - Paris, 2001). Bouquet...

Lot 87
Aller au lot
25 000 - 35 000 EUR
Résultats sans frais
Résultat : 31 000 EUR

LE PHO (Hadong, 1907 - Paris, 2001). Bouquet...

LE PHO (Hadong, 1907 - Paris, 2001).
Bouquet de chrysanthèmes jaunes et feuillage dans un panier tressé.
Peinture sur soie signée en bas à droite.
Haut. : 55 cm - Larg. : 42 cm (à vue)


Le Pho naît le 2 aout 1907 à Hadong près de Hanoï alors capitale de l’Indochine française. Fils du vice-roi du Tonkin (Tông-dôc), le jeune enfant profite d’un enseignement privilégié ouvert sur la calligraphie et la peinture de lettrés.
De 1925 à 1930, il étudie à l’École Supérieure des Beaux-Arts de Hanoï, nouvellement créée par Victor Tardieu, Nguyen Nam Son et Joseph Inguimberty. Cette période où se mêlent analyse des grands maîtres occidentaux et techniques asiatiques traditionnelles est cruciale pour l’éveil artistique du jeune homme. L’école devient le terreau fertile de toute une génération d’artistes brillants qui profitent de cet heureux syncrétisme pour créer un art nouveau, juste équilibre entre deux cultures opposées. Dans le contexte colonial d’alors, la mixité culturelle et le statut d’artiste permettent à cette jeune promotion la possibilité d’une expression individuelle et une émancipation sociale.
Victor Tardieu, conscient des capacités du jeune peintre, l’invite à l’accompagner comme assistant lors de l’Exposition Coloniale de Paris en 1931 et le pousse à intégrer l’École des Beaux-Arts de Paris. Il profite de cette période pour se rendre en Belgique, aux Pays-Bas et en Italie. Ce Grand Tour se poursuit jusqu’à Pékin où il s’installe en 1934 pour étudier la peinture traditionnelle chinoise.
Après une première exposition retentissante à Hanoï en 1933, Le Pho s’installe à Paris où il se consacre à la peinture. D’abord influencé par les maîtres primitifs et de la Renaissance, l’artiste revisite l’iconographie de la Vierge à l’Enfant où s’entremêlent références académiques et savoir-faire oriental millénaire.
En 1941 et 1943, il croise le chemin d’Albert Marquet et d’Henri Matisse qui l’initient à la peinture d’avant-garde française. Son style, en perpétuelle évolution, conservera toujours cette petite musique poétique révélatrice de son héritage vietnamien.
Ainsi, dans les années 1960, son pinceau saisit pour l’éternité la couleur évanescente des bouquets de fleurs et transforme le thème immuable de la nature-morte en une double révérence au Siècle d’or hollandais et aux aquarelles xieyi.
Il transmet cette passion à son fils, l’artiste et dessinateur Pierre Le-Tan, qui n’aura de cesse de perfectionner, à son tour, les techniques ancestrales pour le compte du New Yorker ou de l’écrivain Patrick Modiano.
Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de ventes
Retourner au catalogue