Alfredo PINA (Milan, 1887 - La Charité-sur-Loire,... - Lot 86 - Le Floc'h

Lot 86
Got to lot
Estimation :
4000 - 6000 EUR
Result without fees
Result : 34 000EUR
Alfredo PINA (Milan, 1887 - La Charité-sur-Loire,... - Lot 86 - Le Floc'h
Alfredo PINA (Milan, 1887 - La Charité-sur-Loire, 1966).
Couple hugging.
Bronze with brown-green patina signed, numbered C 1924 and bearing the mention cire perdue Motte frères Paris on the edge of the terrace (small oxidations).
High. 65 cm - Width: 51 cm - Depth: 35 cm

Alfredo Pina was born in Milan in 1887. He stayed in Bologna and then in Rome before arriving in Paris in 1911. After the war he settled in the Montparnasse district near Antoine Bourdelle's studio. Both of them were interested in the figure of Beethoven, trying to fix in the material the impalpable genius of the composer.
Despite critical success at the Galerie Allard in 1920, the Salon des Tuileries refused his Bust of Victor Hugo. This setback was reminiscent of the hermeticism of the sponsors in the face of the audacity of Auguste Rodin's Monument à Balzac.
In this respect, the Tomb of Dante commissioned from Pina by the Italian State, a major work by the artist that was unfortunately destroyed during the Second World War, undoubtedly echoes the Gates of Hell of the "master".
The virtuoso modeling of our embracing Couple, sublimated by a nuanced brown-green patina, is one of the most beautiful testimonies of the sculptor's know-how. With this subject, of which few examples are known, the sensual tension of the bodies reaches its paroxysm.
My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Return to catalogue

Alfredo PINA (Milan, 1887 - La Charité-sur-Loire,...

Lot 86
Aller au lot
Estimation :
4000 - 6000 EUR
Résultats sans frais
Résultat : 34 000EUR

Alfredo PINA (Milan, 1887 - La Charité-sur-Loire,...

Alfredo PINA (Milan, 1887 - La Charité-sur-Loire, 1966).
Couple enlacé.
Bronze à patine brun-vert nuancée signé, numéroté C 1924 et portant la mention cire perdue Motte frères Paris sur le bord de la terrasse (petites oxydations).
Haut. : 65 cm - Larg. : 51 cm - Prof. : 35 cm

Alfredo Pina naît à Milan en 1887. Il séjourne à Bologne puis à Rome avant d’arriver à Paris en 1911. Après la guerre il s’installe dans le quartier de Montparnasse à proximité de l’atelier d’Antoine Bourdelle. Tous deux se penchent sur la figure de Beethoven, essayant de fixer dans la matière l’impalpable génie du compositeur.
Malgré un succès critique à la galerie Allard en 1920, le Salon des Tuileries refuse son Buste de Victor Hugo. Ce revers n’est pas sans rappeler l’hermétisme des commanditaires face à l’audace du Monument à Balzac d’Auguste Rodin.
À cet égard, le Tombeau de Dante commandé à Pina par l’État italien, œuvre majeure de l’artiste malheureusement détruite lors de la Seconde Guerre mondiale, fait indubitablement écho à la Porte de l’Enfer du « maître ».
Le modelé virtuose de notre Couple enlacé, que vient sublimer une patine brun-vert nuancée, fait partie des plus beaux témoignages du savoir-faire du sculpteur. Avec ce sujet, dont peu d’exemplaires sont connus, la tension sensuelle des corps atteint son paroxysme.
Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de ventes
Retourner au catalogue